The Reggae Boyz will kick off their 2022 World Cup Qualifying campaign in Mexico, June 2021.

The draw for Concacaf World Cup 2022 qualifying was made on Wednesday.

Jamaica, Mexico, The United States, Costa Rica, and Honduras the format is straight-forward as all five countries have been given a bye into the final round of 8.

The other 30 countries entered Wednesday’s draw for the first round with El Salvador, Canada, Curacao, Panama, Haiti, and Trinidad and Tobago seeded in Groups A to F. The seeding was based on the FIFA rankings as of July 16, 2020.

The preliminary round of the Concacaf Qualifiers, The winners of each group will advance to the next round of qualifying.


The second-round will be played between the group winners from the First Round, with the match-ups pre-determined as follows:

  • Group A winner vs Group F winner
  • Group B winner vs Group E winner
  • Group C winner vs Group D winner

The teams will play home and away in a direct elimination format in the FIFA match window of March 2021. The three winners will progress to the Final Round.


This is where the heavyweights enter the fray. Mexico, the United States, Costa Rica, Jamaica and Honduras, will be joined by the three winners from round 2.

Each country in the Final Round of eight countries will play 14 games in a league format with a scheduled start in June 2021.

The remaining matches will be played in the FIFA match windows of September, October, November 2021 and January and March 2022.

The top three teams at the conclusion of the Final Round will automatically qualify for the World Cup in Qatar in late 2022 and the 4th placed country will have to win an Intercontinental Playoff in June 2022.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here